53rd Cherokee PRCA Rodeo
May 30 - Jun 1

Cherokee, IA

53rd Cherokee PRCA Rodeo

Read below what happened in 2018 and was featured on the www.prorodeo.com.  

Iowa cowboy wins his first ProRodeo on Barnes' Bull, Rafael's Red Chain

Barnes' Bucking Horses and Bulls shine for hometown fans

by: Gretchen Kirchmann

Garrett Wall from Sioux City claimed his first PRCA win in the bull riding at the 52nd Cherokee Chamber PRCA Rodeo.  His 81-point ride on Thursday stood up over the Friday and Saturday performances and RAM Circuit Final caliber contestants.  

Following Wall's ride he was all smiles and high-fived Bullfighter Luke Moore. Wall drew a rank bull, Rafael's Red Chain with a 70% buck off last year.  The bull was selected for the 2017 RAM Great Lakes Circuit Finals.   

Wall, a recent Morningside College graduate is focused his ProRodeo career now. "I've had people ask me if I was gonna ride in the Cherokee PRCA since I was 16-years-old.  It's close to home and everyone in the area knows about Cherokee."

Wall prefers to ride in the moment and not predict the bull's tendencies from dialogue by fellow contestants.  He explained, "when they tell me a bull is gonna spin to the right, and it goes left. I anticipated right and get bucked off. One kid came up to me and said that if I rode this bull I'd probably win it (the rodeo).  That was all I knew.  I told him to stop, because I didn't want to hear anymore about it.  I get to thinking about it too much," stated Wall. 

The 23-year-old  cowboy was one of the dozen Iowa contestants that cashed checks in Cherokee.  Wall is working hard to qualify for his first 2018 Great Lakes Circuit Finals and is focused on making the PRCA Ram Rodeo Permit Finals in Las Vegas during the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (WNFR).  

Bull  Riders and fellow Iowans Gumby Wren from Sidney won second on 120 Ada Been 90;  John Young from Orient won third on 44 Sugar Ray; Stitch Gibson from Sidney placed fourth on 396 Bird Dog;  The fifth place tie went to Dalton Krantz from Corydon on 18 Legal Eagle and Ardie Maier from Timber Lake, So. Dak. on 15 Friendly Fire. 

South Dakota claimed four event championships and the All Around Cowboy title.  Hallie Fulton from Wessington Springs, So. Dak. won the Barrel Race and her first cousin, Jake Fulton, won the All Around title and split the Tie-Down Roping.  

Barnes PRCA Rodeo bucking horses delivered paychecks for Badlands, Great Lakes and Prairie Circuit cowboys.  The reigning 2018  RAM Badlands Circuit Finals Champion and 3x WNFR qualifier Ty Breuer from Mandan, No. Dak. won the Bareback Riding.  Breuer scored 83.5 points on 6A8 Squints. Nick Schwedhelm rode 1Z8 Hawley Falls for 81.5 points to win second.  Garrett Shadbolt from Merriman, Neb. rode 6M0 Deep Springs placing third, with his 81 point ride. The reigning 2018 RAM Great Lakes Circuit Champion and 3x WNFR qualifier Tanner Aus from Granite Falls, Minn. collected his check on 4D2 Final Wall with 80 pts.   

Evan Thyberg from Hartford, So. Dak. split the Tie-Down Roping with Fulton. Both turned in 10.9 second runs. Cody Huber from Albia, Iowa collected a check in fifth place.  Steer Wrestler Noah Lassa from Merrill, Wis. won with a 4.5 seconds. 

Saddle Bronc Rider Lane Stirling from Buffalo, So. Dak. won on 5H0 Bailamos with 79 pts; Jesse Wilson from Martin, So. Dak. took second place on 4Z2 Buffalo Zinger; Dalton Kingery from Monroe, Iowa on 2D5 Closing Time finished third; The fourth place tie included Iowans - Briar Dittmer from Runnells, on R5 Slide Gate and Logan Allen from Crescent, on Y2 Katey;  4x WNFR qualifier and reigning 2018 RAM Badlands Circuit Finals Champion J.J. Elshere from Hereford, So. Dak. collected his check on 15I0 Super Fly. 

Team Ropers Jade Schmidt from Box Elder, So. Dak. and heeling partner Cameron Irwin from Buffalo, Wyo. were 5.6 seconds to claim the win.  Iowa cowboys Mitchell Barney from Logan, and JW Beck from Moville, split 4/5 with Butch Levell from Glenwood and his partner Brady Kyle from Archer City, Texas.

The three performance rodeo May 31 through June 2 had 254 competitors.  For more details visit www.cherokeerodeo.com

Back to Schedule